Foxtel Cup: How strong will the East Perth Royals be?

East Perth's chances of winning the AFL's Foxtel Cup will be determined by how well West Coast is performing during the 2014 season.

The Royals' begin their full affiliation with the Eagles in the coming WAFL season and their chance of fielding a strong side for their round one Foxel Cup clash has been helped by the AFL fixturing the game at Patersons Stadium.

They will play SANFL premier Norwood on May 27.

However, the fact that game is being played on a Tuesday could force the Eagles to stop several of their players from participating in the fixture.

West Coast will play its round 10 game against Collingwood at the MCG on Saturday, May 24; then tackle North Melbourne at Patersons Stadium on Sunday, May 1.

If they cop injuries or suspensions against the Pies, they will look to their players at East Perth to be available and there will be only five days between the Royals Foxtel Cup fixture against Norwood and the AFL clash against the Roos.

The Foxtel Cup is a knock-out competition. All games will be broadcast on FoxFooty and the winning club will pocket $100,000.

The Foxtel Grand Final will be played on July 22, just three days before the Eagles round 18 clash against Richmond at Patersons Stadium.

WAFL premier West Perth will play VFL premier, the Box Hill Hawks at Etihad Stadium in its first round clash, on Tuesday, May 6.

All games in the Foxtel Cup, including the July 22 Grand Final, will be played on Tuesday nights, with games in Perth scheduled to start at 6.35pm.

All matches will again consist of four quarters each of eighteen (18) minutes set time, plus time-on from the last three minutes only (20 minutes approximately total per quarter), to lessen the load on players as well as to enable games to fit into a two-hour broadcast window.

Last year's champion West Adelaide will return to defend its title and will be joined by each of the 2013 state league premiers from the SANFL (Norwood), VFL (Box Hill Hawks) and West Perth. East Perth, Williamstown (VFL) and Prospect State (TSFL) have each earned automatic entry into round one while NEAFL sides Aspley and Belconnen will play off for the right to earn the final position among the leading eight state league sides in the country.

Round 1
April 29 - West Adelaide v Prospect State
May 6 - Box Hill v West Perth
May 20 - Williamstown v Aspley, or Belconnen
May 27 - East Perth v Norwood

June 24 - between winners of first two games
July 1 - between winners of last two games

July 22 - Grand Final

  •  Follow WAtoday on Twitter
  • Smartphone
    Tablet - Narrow
    Tablet - Wide