Bombala and Delegate urged to share views on how our health needs can best be met

SOUTHERN NSW Local Health District (SNSWLHD) is inviting feedback from the Bombala and Delegate communities on how to best meet local health needs.

A proposal has been developed to create a sustainable health service in Bombala and Delegate given the low demand for acute services and current workforce recruitment challenges.

Director of Service Improvement, Mr Andrew Gow said the proposal includes formally joining the Bombala MPS and Delegate MPS services under the existing Senior Nurse Manager who covers both sites.

“We expect a formal partnership would strengthen the services we are able to provide in each town and would like to discuss it further with the local community before any changes are made,” Mr Gow said.

The proposed change would increase access to specialised community health services.

“Our proposal would support the recruitment of a new Nurse Practitioner to work across both Delegate and Bombala to address the demand for non-urgent care,” Mr Gow said.

Nurse Practitioners are able to order and review the results of x-rays and pathology and can start patient treatment with some medications and antibiotics.

Patients requiring urgent care will continue to be taken by Ambulance to the nearest hospital with medical coverage under the current arrangements.

If a permanent doctor is found for Delegate, SNSWLHD would revise the service model taking into account the available medical and community health resources.

Feedback can be provided via the Bombala or Delegate MPS Advisory Committees.

Members of the Bombala committee are Leannda O’Brien, Anna Vincent, Bronwen Longden, Di Hampshire, Jennie Platts and Norm Vincent.

Members of the Delegate committee are Rhonda Linehan, Natalie Armstrong, Gloria Cotterill, Jayne Sellers, Sue Guthrie, John Judge, Charles Burton, and Jan Ingram.

The proposal will be reviewed over the coming months including regular feedback from the community via the Bombala and Delegate MPS Advisory Committees.