Districts well represented at bowls carnival

With the official start to our 2014 season the Bombala Bowling Club held a successful Max Atkins Kurrawatha two-day carnival with teams from Orbost, Young, Queanbeyan and Cooma.

The carnival was very well represented by district clubs from down the coast with a total of 28 teams making for a full 


The event was sponsored by the Bombala Ladies Bowling Club and the Delegate Hotel.

On Saturday, three games were played to sort out the teams and grades.

Sunday’s results were;

A Grade Carnival winners Bega team; Ron George, Reg George and Popa Clark.

Runners up were the  Bombala team of Kyle Richardson, Ray Fermor and Bert Ingram.

B Grade winners were Jim Campbell’s Merimbula team and runners up were Wayne Sharples’ Candelo team.

C Grade winners were Cyril Chase’s  Merimbula team and runners up were Joy Clark’s Tura Beach team.

D Grade winners were Greg Smith’s Queanbeyan team and runners up were Kert Bobbin’s Eden team.

Coming up for the club is the first round club fours on or before Sunday, February 2.