Council candidates finalised for Snowy Monaro election

UPDATED following official ballot draw.

Nominations for candidates in September’s local government elections closed at noon on Wednesday, with 27 people throwing their hat in the ring for the 11 seats on offer in Snowy Monaro.

All but two have nominated as independents, with one claiming Greens Party affiliation and one unlisted.

Included as expected among the candidates are former councillors including ex-Bombala Mayor Bob Stewart and former Bombala colleague Sue Haslingden; former Cooma-Monaro councillors Angie Ingram, Winston Phillips, Tony Kaltoum; and former Snowy River councillors Peter Beer, John Shumack and Colin Stewart-Beardsley.

Candidates are spread from Michelago, Chakola and Peak View in the north, to Quidong and Bombala in the south, with several from Jindabyne also putting their hands up for consideration.

There are two “group tickets” with Bob Stewart, John Last and Anne Maslin running on a combined platform in Group A, with Andrew Thaler and Alisa Thaler of Nimmitabel listed as Group B.

In ballot paper order as per Wednesday night’s draw, the candidates and listed home town are:

Bob Stewart, Bombala

John Last, Cooma

Anne Maslin, Gunningrah

Andrew Thaler, Nimmitabel

Alisa Thaler, Nimmitabel

Maria Linkenbagh, Cooma

John Rooney, Michelago

Winston Phillips, Binjura

Tony Kaltoum, Binjura

John Castellari, East Jindabyne

Steve Allen, Chakola

Brian Old, Jindabyne

Colin Stewart-Beardsley, Jindabyne

Jan Walker, Cooma

Peter Beer, East Jindabyne

Lee Evans, Cooma

Sue Haslingden, Quidong

Rogan Corbett, Cooma

Michelle Francis, Cooma

Peter Cottrell, Rocky Plain

Angie Ingram, Cooma

John Shumack, Jindabyne

John Harrington, Winifred

Lynley Miners, Adaminaby

James Ewart, Peak View

Roger Norton, Cooma

Council elections in 45 local government areas will take place on Saturday, September 9. 

The location of polling venues will be provided by the Electoral Commission of NSW closer to the election date.