Bombala sports news roundup including golf, Bombala Races and rugby league

Bombala races

The Bombala Races are set to run on Saturday, October 20 at the Bombala Race track and reservations for the marquee are now being taken.  Call Chloe on 0452 206 604.


Bombala lady golfers played a Stableford for a club trophy on Wednesday. The winner was Eva L’Estrange 36 pts. Balls were won by Joy Douch 34 pts and Janet Cowell 31 pts. NTP on the 7th was Eva.

Monday of the long weekend the members played a Stableford for Club Trophy. The winner beating the men was Di Ingram 39 pts. Balls were won by Di, Merv Douch 33 pts on a c/b from Ray Crawford.

On Saturday, members played a Par for T. Gronow Trophy. Ray Crawford had a good round winning with a + 2. Balls were won by Ray and Merv Douch Square. NTP was not won.

Golf program

Ladies: Wednesday, October 10.  Flag. Stroke. Club Trophy. Saturday is the Men of League Day.

Members:  Saturday Men of League Day – tee off 10am with breakfast and lunch provided.  The day will include many activities including the auction of the South Sydney footy jumper. Please come along an support the Men of League.

Sunday is a Stableford for Club Trophy.  Duty Roster: Ross Brown.

Delegate Open

Saturday afternoon the men played a 4BBB Stableford. Winners: S Walcott & R Kading 47 points.

Men’s Results for Sunday 7th October.

18 Holes Open Scratch : R Kading 75

18 Holes Scratch Division 1 : J Cameron, after a play off with K Elton, 76

18 Holes Scratch Division 2 : S Walcott 79

18 Holes Scratch Division 3 : R Kermode 103

Best 9 Holes Scratch : K Elton

18 Holes Handicap Division 1 : G Lasker 68 nett

18 Holes Handicap Division 2 : C Halligan 62 nett

18 Holes Handicap Division 3 : D Abraham 74 nett

9 Holes Handicap Division 1 : C Nichol 33.5

9 Holes Handicap Division 2 : M Brown 32 nett

9 Holes Handicap Division 3 : J Robertson 35 nett

Veterans Trophy : B Buckley 68 nett

Visitors Trophy : K Elton 69 nett

Longest Drive Division 1 : J Cameron

Longest Drive Division 2 : R. Brown

Longest Drive Division 3 : V Walker

NTP 6th : G Walker

NTP 13th : J Cameron

Blue Heelers

The Blue Heelers Rugby League Football Club is looking for volunteers. All committee positions will be declared vacant for 2019 committee at the annual general meeting at Club Bombala on October 25 at 8pm.