Bombala junior playing NRL curtain-raiser with Country Under 16s

A young Bombala lad is about to make his mark on the national rugby league stage as part of the NSW Country Under 16s.

Monaro Colts Under 16s player and Country Under 16s representative Reagan Hurley

Monaro Colts Under 16s player and Country Under 16s representative Reagan Hurley

Monaro Colts player Reagan Hurley has been named at number 3 for the Country team, which will take on the Harold Matthews representative side in a curtain raiser to the Penrith v New Zealand NRL match on Friday, May 17.

The 20-man Country squad contains some of the brightest regional talent from the CRL Andrew Johns Cup competition and a combined 15 players from finalists Northern Rivers Titans and Western Rams.

Reagan was recently awarded Monaro Colts U16s player of the year at a presentation ceremony in Queanbeyan.

CRL elite pathways football manager Matt Parish said Friday's match is an exciting occasion.

"It is great to see the 'City v Country' concept that was originally started in 1911 is still alive and it is a wonderful opportunity for our players to be a part of it," Parish said.

"The match is also a fantastic opportunity for our representative players to test themselves against Metropolitan NSW's best junior representative players on stage at Penrith Stadium.

"Following Friday's match a NSW squad will be chosen to face an Under-16's Pasifika team in June, so it would be pleasing to see some country representatives selected as a result of their performance."

The NSWRL Harold Matthews v NSW Country Under-16's match will be played at 4.10pm on Friday, May 17, at Penrith Stadium.

The game will be live streamed via the CRL Facebook page, as well as the NSWRL Facebook page and websites.

Gates open at 3.55pm, with the Penrith Panthers v NZ Warriors match kicking off at 6pm.

NSW Country Under-16s Representative Team:

1. Braye Porter (St Johns Dubbo / Western Rams)

2. Rowan Mansfield (Ballina / Northern Rivers Titans)

3. Reagan Hurley (Bombala / Monaro Colts)

4. Reef Sommerville (Cudgen / Northern Rivers Titans)

5. Malakhi Donovan (Sawtell / North Coast Bulldogs)

6. Riley Lack (Murwillumbah / Northern Rivers Titans)

7. Thomas Weaver (Cudgen / Northern Rivers Titans)

8. Jackson Gersbach (Cabonne / Western Rams)

9. Oskar Bryant (Cudgen / Northern Rivers Titans)

10. Jack Cullen (Cudgen / Northern Rivers Titans)

11. Aston Warwick (South Dubbo / Western Rams)

12. Ryan Foran (Murwillumbah / Northern Rivers Titans)

13. Finnley Neilsen (Parkes Marist / Western Rams)

14. Kyle Mawhinney (Parkes Marist / Western Rams)

15. Noah Johannssen (Tweed Heads / Northern Rivers Titans)

16. Mark Simon (Farrer / Greater Northern Tigers)

17. Matthew Noakes (Red Bend / Western Rams)

18. Keegan Pace (Cudgen / Northern Rivers Titans)

19. Jonah Longbottom (St Georges Basin / Illawarra South Coast Dragons)

20. Jock Brazel (Moree / Greater Northern Tigers)

Coach: Shaun Davison